Humanism

poet-picture

I never thought that being a poet would require much passion and dedication. I thought it was something some people did in their free time just for their own enjoyment. But now I realize that it’s much more bigger than that. Over a short period of time in writing poetry, I realized that poetry is personal but at the same time inspirational that pushes humanity to the next level when it comes to coping up with love and loss and pain and suffering and my job as a poet is to heal people by making them feel much less alone in this world. That the sadness or happiness or anger or disgust that they’re feeling right now is valid because all of those are human emotions that make us humans—human. So in a way, I consider myself not just a poet but a humanist. And I guess that’s how I’ll justify my existence in this world.

8 thoughts on “Humanism

Leave a Reply

