Book Review: It’s Kind Of A Funny Story

It’s Kind Of A Funny Story

“People are screwed up in this world. I’d rather be with someone screwed up and open about it than somebody perfect and ready to explode.”

I don’t know where to start. I can’t even get the characters out of my head. Especially the Craig and Noelle romance. Wow.

It’s sad, romantic, humorous, and very honest in the eyes of a clinically depressed person like me.

And I was right that it ends with a good ending. The synopsis at the back of the book spoiled it in a way.

What’s special about this book is its simplicity from start to finish. And again, it’s very honest in a funny and humorous way.

But I have to be honest too and say that this is one of those books where life and fiction can be so close, yet so far away. And with these kinds of books, it’s truly hard to grasp if there was something to be learned simply because it was full of meaning.

Yet we still have to choose between life and fiction. And for me, I choose fiction. Fiction is what I live for. Life could be a nightmare sometimes, as Craig Gilner would say. And I found my anchor (A term he uses for something clinically depressed people do to cope up and hold on to life), and it’s writing.

This is a novel that would really help me a lot with my own novel because of its similarities. It’s not stealing I guess. I think writers evolve by mixing up their own style with other writers style which would result into a sparkling cocktail of a new and unique style.

It didn’t inspire me just to write more. But it inspired to live more.

And as usual, I’ll end with a closing quote 🙂

“Sometimes I just think depression’s one way of coping with the world. Like, some people get drunk, some people do drugs, some people get depressed. Because there’s so much stuff out there that you have to do something to deal with it.”

8 thoughts on “Book Review: It’s Kind Of A Funny Story

  1. Pingback: Book Review: It’s Kind Of A #Funny #Story #fb – Engineer Marine Skipper

  2. It sounds like an interesting story; I’ll have to check it out! In regards to dealing with depression, I am all too familiar. I believe it gives you an ability to see the world differently, but it comes with dangers, too. Most depressed people have to find solace somewhere and turn to behaviors that are far from healthy. I am glad that you use writing to help you. You have a way with words, my friend. Keep up the healthy habit!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.