Books I Read: It’s Kind Of A Funny Story

It’s Kind Of A Story

Synopsis:

Ambitious New York City teenager Craig Gilner is determined to succeed at lifeโ€”which means getting into the right high school to get into the right college to get the right job. But once Craig aces his way into Manhattan’s Executive Pre-Professional Highschool, the pressure becomes unbearable. He stops eating and sleeping until, one night, he nearly kills himself.

Craig’s suicidal episode gets him checked into a mental hospital, where his new neighbors include a transsexual sex addict, a girl who scarred her own face with scissors, and the self-elected President Armelio. There, Craig is finally able to confront the sources of his anxiety.

The book’s synopsis somehow spoils the book itself to be honest. Haha. It gives you the presumption that it ends with a good ending which I think it will since I’m nearly finished with the book.

I’m currently at page 400/444.

I started reading this book yesterday and I’m sure I’ll finish this book tonight because I’m really hooked on this amazing book.

I’m currently downloading the film adaptation which hopefully wouldn’t disappoint me. I think it won’t because the foreword praised the film adaptation.

Surprisingly, this book is much cheaper than Silver Linings Playbook. It cost me $10 compared to Silver Linings Playbook which is $15.

It’s Kind Of A Funny Story for me is high in rereadability (even though I’m not yet finished reading the whole novel), if that’s even a real word.

And the author killed himself 2 years ago which was something I expected when I read the synopsis for the first time. Is that weird? I googled Ned Vizzini’s name only to see if he died by committing suicide (Which the character in the book was supposed to) like the other mental health authors do. Is that also weird? I think it is, in a good way. Hehehe.

As a clinically depressed person, I can really connect with this book on a much deeper level than the other mental health books I’ve read in the past ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “Books I Read: It’s Kind Of A Funny Story

  1. That is sad that the author killed himself. I had severe depression for 13 years, from 12-25, and there were so many times I wanted to kill myself. I ended up with a carving knife at my throat about to cut my throat but I was interrupted. But all the time I had the tiniest bit of hope that one day, although I couldn’t imagine it, things would get better. I took myself into therapy at the age of 22, although the psychiatrists said I was too depressed for therapy. I recovered from the clinical depression but then became suicidal again and got addicted to cocaine and could have died. Then when I got clean the kindness I had from strangers in rehab, so different from the abuse I had had from my parents, started to lift the depression. I am still on anti-depressants because I had severe OCD but I am now totally recovered from the depression and all my other mental health problems including PTSD. I am happier and more peaceful than I have ever been and sane for the first time in my life and feel my life is just beginning now. Thank God I did not commit suicide all those times I wanted to or I would never know the happiness I have today.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Hey, cool, a new book to check out. I’ve been looking for books written in the 2000’s to “catch up with the times”. I tend to read books from the 1970’s and below, they’ve always had more substance to me. But that’s not the point here, I’m rambling. That book sounds interesting, but it’s sad to lose yet another author to suicide. The fact that it’s not uncommon is depressing in itself.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My daughter read the book and we both saw the movie. Great! I’m not sure why but children, especially in middle school, are so depressed. Being the parent of grown children now, I can say I wasn’t so aware of it until it got worse. Another thing I noticed about the children now is that they are experts at keeping secrets between each other.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

