I’m Technically Not Bipolar (Yet)

A Possible Misdiagnosis

I’ll go straight to the point.

I’ve had an addiction to smart drugs. 

And my stories about my hypomania are not that hypomanic at all.

My new psychiatrist that my old psychiatrist recommended me told me that it’s most likely that I’m suffering from severe depression and anxiety.

And the smart drugs may have been the reason for the so-called “hypomanic episodes.”

But the problem with these kinds of diagnosis is that it’s not 100% accurate since there’s no instant way to truly know if I have bipolar disorder or not.

So now I have to take an anti-depressant called Citalopram (Celexa). And I still have to take Lamictal (lamotrigine) just in case I have bipolar depression. I don’t know why’s that.

Also, I have to wait for awhile for the anti-depressants to work. I’ve taken anti-depressants in the past, but this one is better I guess. And I feel suicidal again like I always do when I’m taking anti-depressants.

By the way, don’t get me wrong. There’s still a possibility that I’m bipolar and I’m okay with it 🙂 I feel like there’s nothing wrong with being bipolar as long as long as I’m happy and properly treated.

And if all treatments fail, there’s always ECT which I’m willing to undergo. (Which I secretly want to undergo. And now it’s not a secret anymore. Hehehe.)

Good news is I can now sleep almost instantly every night because of my sleeping pills 🙂

I bought a new book called “It’s Kind Of A Funny Story” by Ned Vizzini. I’ll make a post about it tomorrow or some other day on what’s it about and how I feel about it.

On a final note.

Thank you for all the people who reflected on my last post. I feel much better now. I’ll be developing a new strategy to cope up with my severe depression and anxiety which I would most likely talk about tomorrow 🙂

14 thoughts on “I’m Technically Not Bipolar (Yet)

  1. yes the waiting period until you find out “what” you’ve got is the tricky and annoying part… I’m in about the same situation, still no idea if I really am Bipolar or if it was the meds that caused hypo-mania in the past but I do have slight hypo periods sometimes even now so my guess is I am. Waiting is the hard part…

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.