I am a Late Bloomer

What is a Late Bloomer? 

A late bloomer is a person whose talents or capabilities are not visible to others until later than usual.

 

Me as a Late Bloomer 

I do consider myself as a late bloomer even though I’m still 19 years old. In the past, I never really knew what my real passion was, and I thought it was acting and music, but it didn’t feel right. Especially when it was so hard for me to perform in front of many people.

I also thought it was psychology, helping depressed people like me to be better. But I recently found out that I have bipolar disorder 2, and it’s now an awkward field to pursue. Although, I’m proud of those people who are bipolar and psychologists at the same time.

Now I decided not to use the word ‘thought’ or ‘think,’ but to use the word ‘felt’ or ‘feel.’ I felt and feel that all my life my passion was right in front of my eyes. Not noticing that I always loved writing and writing and writing since I was a young boy.

 

What Made Me A Late Bloomer?

 

The Education System

The education system made me feel stupid. Students thought only maths and sciences made them smart. I felt stupid because the education system never really nourished my talents and judged me in the things I had no talent for.

 

My Parents

They had little value for my artistic talents. They forced me in a tourism course. And they forced me to stay away from my artistic ambitions. From being a musician or an artist. Only to be surprised now that writing is my natural gift.

 

Being An Undiagnosed Bipolar Person

In the past, I knew that I was clinically depressed and my parents wouldn’t listen, thinking it was just ‘a phase.’ Until finally my mom brought me to a psychiatrist and to find out later that I have bipolar type 2. And everything made sense from that day.

 

What made me a late bloomer is mostly the way I am.

 

A Thankful Late Bloomer

Thankfully, I snapped out of from it all and realized that there’s still lots of hope because I am still a young man.

I still thank the education system for teaching me useful and useless stuff.

I still thank my parents for their financial support.

I still thank God or the universe for giving me bipolar disorder type 2 because it’s who I am and it’s what makes me a creative and unique person.

 

In The Process of Being a Late Bloomer

I’m now in the process of blooming as a writer.

And music and acting would always have a place in my heart.

And psychology would always have a place in my mind.

 

I love my life, even more, knowing that there are other flowers out there.

Flowers that are thought to be dead.

Flowers that are yet to bloom.

 

I have one question before this reaches 500 words:

Are you also a late bloomer?

31 thoughts on “I am a Late Bloomer

  1. I don’t know if finding out that I had social anxiety in my late 20’s make me a late bloomer, but I guess I am?! Hehe A great piece of mind well written by the way! And yes, you are talented!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s really sad and frustrating to be a late bloomer. But it’s comforting to know that as long as we live we can still do what we have to do to make life a little worth it. Thank you for your comment 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m a very late bloomer. Even though I have had talent, went to college and got my bachelor’s in fine art. I was never fulfilled. Since I’ve been I’ll I’ve found a new me.
    I don’t want money or atatus, I like writing things that mean something to someone.
    I like helping.
    I like touching people.
    I like living every day one moment at a time.
    I’m a late bloomer.
    And I’ll be 53 in July.
    Better late than never.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You are a brave young man! I am 42 years old and still figuring out what I want to do. I was a lawyer – same idea – went to law school because it seemed my parents wanted me to, but I always knew that I wanted to help people. Now I am working in psych rehab and writing. It feels so much better! You have your whole life ahead of you and you are so much more than your diagnosis. Keep it up.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well, I hardly consider that in your age of 19, you are a late bloomer. I’m pretty sure you are still a learner, and far from settling a career. Most people make a fortune when they are in 20s, but most of them, (scholars, doctors and lawyers) succeed on their 30s.

    There is no reason to think of yourself as a late bloomer. You are still on the first half of your lifetime. There are more opportunities to seek, and choices to choose.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My introduction somehow contradicted with my last statement which I stated that “I am in the process of being a late bloomer”. It’s complicated haha. Thank you for your advice Janus 🙂 I appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Loved reading about your life. The fact, that you are making an effort to change your lifestyle. Giving your happiness a chance. A chance to live, doing what makes you happy. Stay blessed ! You are indeed a very good writer 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.