Book Review: The Silver Linings Playbook

The Silver Linings Playbook

“In my arms is a woman who has given me a Skywatcher’s Cloud Chart, a woman who knows all my secrets, a woman who knows just how messed up my mind is, how many pills I’m on, and yet she allows me to hold her anyway. There’s something honest about all this, and I cannot imagine any other woman lying in the middle of a frozen soccer field with me – in the middle of a snowstorm even – impossibly hoping to see a single cloud break free of a nimbostratus.”

This book is really close to my heart. Even though it talked about football a lot in the middle pages. I almost got bored. Actually, I did get bored a little. Thankfully the boring parts were only in the middle pages of the book.

What I learned about this novel is that happy endings or silver linings do happen but not in the way we want it. Most of the time we don’t even notice these happy endings because we’re so focused on our version of a happy ending. Sometimes the other version is much better than our version of a happy ending.

Another thing I learned is that life is a series of movies. We have to learn and accept that some movies end badly. It teaches us to be strong. It teaches us to move on to the next movie. Where the director which is “God” may create a better ending for us than the last one.

The most important thing that I learned is: We should accept the love that life gives us.

Like Pat accepted Tiffany’s love in the end. Ending his movie with Nikki and moving on to his new movie with Tiffanny.

The ending almost made me cry. I feel like I would read this book again in the near future.

I’ll end with one of my favorite quotes from this book.

“If clouds are blocking the sun, there will always be a silver lining that reminds me to keep on trying.”

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Silver Linings Playbook

Leave a Reply

