Books I Read: Silver Linings Playbook

Silver Linings Playbook

Synopsis:

Pat is a person with bipolar disorder. He has a theory that his life is a movie produced by God. And his God-given mission is to become physically fit and emotionally literate, whereupon God will ensure a happy ending for him—the return of his estranged wife, Nikki.

I bought this book yesterday.

It cost me $15.

As a person with bipolar disorder 2, I can’t really relate with Pat that much. But I can relate to his habitual jogging rituals to tire himself whenever he feels sad or mad.

Maybe the reason why I can’t relate to him is because he has bipolar disorder 1. I’m not saying that having bipolar disorder 1 is bad. But bipolar disorder 1 is more extreme.

He’s also a little bit deluded. But what I love about this character is how he strongly believes in silver linings also known as “good endings.”

I’m currently on page 67/289.

And yeah I’m obsessed with books about mental health > mental illness.

It makes me feel normal and okay.

5 thoughts on “Books I Read: Silver Linings Playbook

  1. It’s always good to hear stories from people of similar backgrounds, even if they’re not quite the same. Reminds you you’re not alone.

    I’ve heard such mixed reviews of this book. Good it seems to be treating you well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Keep Reading – it is the power of connection – you take in many different perspectives that hone your own unique view- I’m going to try to publish an e booklet of my book reviews- if you haven’t yet you should too!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.