Obsessive Compulsive Writers: How Do You Cope Up?

My Life as a Writer with OCD 

I’m tired.

I haven’t been to therapy yet, but I can’t live like this.

I’ve been trying to stop the habitual rituals that are nonsensical.

To be honest, I have this urge to delete this blog and start over again.

But that would only worsen my OCD, and I might regret that action later.

But I really would love to start over.

 

I count numbers when I do things, and it’s weird.

Like I have to do everything 3 times.

And it’s driving me crazy.

 

I reread sentences in books 3 times.

I proofread my blog posts 3 times.

And I even have this urge to proofread my old blog posts.

I sometimes edit those old blog posts because of an awkward sentence.

Or a misspelled word, a wrong punctuation, or simply a bad choice of words.

And nothing can annoy me better than tags and categories.

 

OCD has affected my main project which is a romance novel.

When it’s not working out, I feel like I should start over again.

And I just delete my work and start over again.

 

I’m tired.

And I only have one question for the OCD writers out there.

How do you cope up?

7 thoughts on “Obsessive Compulsive Writers: How Do You Cope Up?

  1. For sure I get the delete urge too and some deleting I am glad about. When I get the urge to delete my WordPress blog, I have a ‘saviour’ (family member) who dissuades me. The editing thing is, I think, widespread. Strength with your OCD battle.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What’s wrong with editing an old blog, especially if you see a mistake. If you categorize them, I think they appear in your archives for folks to read in the future. I’ve journaled most of my life and find it useful to go back over them. If you “start over” ou won’t have that information. I think many blogs are really journals, and worth keeping. A book you might find informative is “The Brain That Changes Itself” — the part on OCD. Hang in there and find a best friend. And therapist!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve already scheduled a session. My best friend does help a lot in coping up with life. I’m actually okay with it now. I don’t find myself editing tags or old posts anymore. Thank you for your comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. People tend to think that checking work is a GOOD thing. Not for me; not when it’s a compulsion. The checks I perform on my work that are compulsions add nothing to the accuracy. The act of doing it is so unpleasant that I actually rush the checks and miss the errors I should be correcting! Scratching my mental itch is not a fun experience and it’s hard to slow down and do things properly sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a waste of time most of the time. I’ve been developing some strategies to battle my own OCD and I’m glad to say I feel much better now.

      It’s better to do a draft first then edit later.

      Although I have to see a psychiatrist for this because mine is quite severe sometimes.

      Thanks for the comment 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.