A Singular Thought

Solitude

“When I was young solitude tasted bland.

Boring, Blank and Dull.

It tasted like a waste of time.

As I became older I searched for companionship.

It looked delicious but it tasted bland as well.

It tasted like a waste of time.

As my taste buds became more matured,

I came to a singular thought,

Solitude is fine.”

“The more powerful and original a mind, the more it will incline towards the religion of solitude.” -Aldous Huxley

Story of my day

I celebrated my 19th birthday partially alone. I worked on an online review for an herbal product, worked a bit on my science fiction novel and rewarded myself with a few hours of Civilization V. My mother brought home black forest cake, peppered chicken, and some balloons, it felt like a replay of my 18th birthday except for the balloons because they were blue which is actually my favorite color.

I thought about making a list of resolutions to be a better person. But that would be too long and complicated. I decided to choose one positive emotion in which I would hold on too for the entire year of being 19.

Serenity

Leave a Reply

